What is a cybersecurity framework? The 5 Most Popular Cybersecurity Framework

Organisations may lower their cyber risks and vulnerabilities by using a cybersecurity framework, which is a collection of rules, processes, and recommendations. The National Institute of Standards and Technology Cybersecurity Framework (NIST), the International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO) 27001, the Control Objectives for Information and Related Technologies (COBIT), the Critical Security Controls of the Information Systems (CIS), and the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) are the five most popular cybersecurity frameworks.

Defining a cybersecurity framework

A cybersecurity structure, which is a set of guidelines and best practises, may help organisations enhance their overall security posture. Despite the fact that there are several available frameworks, they all share similar features.

Identification of assets and hazards is the most crucial component of any cybersecurity architecture. Before putting security measures in place, organisations must be aware of the assets they need to safeguard and the dangers they are facing.

Organisations can start choosing the right security measures after they have assessed their assets and hazards. There are several sorts of controls, and the optimum ones for a given organisation will rely on its unique requirements.

Organisations may strengthen their entire security posture and better safeguard their assets from attacks by putting in place a cybersecurity framework.

The five most popular security frameworks

The various cybersecurity frameworks listed below can be used by organisations to manage and enhance their security posture. The most common five are the ones that follow:

1. Framework for NIST Cybersecurity

An organization’s cybersecurity programme may be developed, put into action, and improved with the help of the voluntary National Institute of Standards and Technology Cybersecurity Framework.

  1. Organisations utilise a cybersecurity framework as a tool to manage and lower cybersecurity risks.
  2. The NIST Cybersecurity Framework (NCSF) was created by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in response to Executive Order 13636, which was released in February 2013.
  3. The NCSF offers a thorough collection of benchmarks, recommendations, and best practises for handling cybersecurity threats.
  4. It is made to be adaptive and flexible to the particular requirements of each organisation.
  5. Businesses of various sizes, from startups to Fortune 500 firms, have embraced the NCSF.

2. Critical Security Controls for the CIS

A set of recommended practises for protecting IT systems and data may be found in the Critical Security Controls from the Centre for Internet Security (CIS). Six categories—asset management, access control, activity monitoring and logging, awareness and training, configuration management, and incident response—comprise the 20 controls that make up this system.

3. The PCI DSS, or Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard

A collection of guidelines for companies that accept credit card payments is known as the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS). To assist protect the security of credit card data, the major card brands—American Express, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, and Visa—created it.

A collection of guidelines for companies that accept credit card payments is known as the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS). The biggest credit card issuers developed it to safeguard cardholders from fraud and data breaches.

Credit card details must be encrypted, strong passwords must be used, and frequent vulnerability scans are just a few examples of the security policies and practises mandated by PCI DSS. Companies that don’t follow PCI DSS guidelines risk fines or losing their ability to accept credit card payments.

One of the various cybersecurity frameworks accessible to corporations is PCI DSS. Other well-known frameworks include COBIT 5, NIST 800-53, and ISO 27001. Every framework has its own advantages and disadvantages, therefore it’s crucial to pick the one that best suits your company’s requirements.

4. COBIT 5

The most recent version of COBIT 5, a framework widely used by ISACA for the governance and management of business IT, is available. It offers an extensive collection of best practises for IT professionals to assist them in integrating IT with the operational objectives of their company. Organisations of all sizes and in all sectors may utilise COBIT 5 to strengthen their cybersecurity posture.

The most recent edition of COBIT 5, the widely used framework for the governance and management of corporate IT developed by ISACA, offers organisational leaders a complete collection of best practises. Organisations may manage their IT resources, business processes, and information security more effectively and efficiently with the support of COBIT 5. Additionally, it encourages the alignment of business and IT goals and offers a common vocabulary for communication between the both.

5. ISO 27001

An widely recognised standard for information security management is ISO 27001. It offers organisations a framework for identifying, evaluating, and managing the risks to their information assets. The standard, which is based on a risk management methodology, aids organisations in developing and sustaining successful cybersecurity programmes.

As they attempt to strengthen their cybersecurity, organisations may gain from the ISO 27001 standard in a variety of ways. In the initial stages, it can help them identify the assets that need to be safeguarded and the dangers they face to. In addition, it can help with risk evaluation and the identification of the controls needed to reduce such hazards. Third, it might help create and maintain an effective cybersecurity plan. It can also provide a base for the program’s ongoing improvement.


Cybersecurity framework is a set of guidelines and best practises that companies may employ to improve their overall security posture. The five most popular cybersecurity frameworks are the CIS Controls, COBIT, ITIL, ISO 27001, NIST Cybersecurity Framework, and COBIT. Even if every framework has pros and cons of its own, they all provide helpful advice for companies looking to improve their cybersecurity posture.

Muhammad Rouf

I am Muhammad Rouf, the founder of TechFlax. I am expert in search engine optimization (SEO) and professional blogger. I think that everyone should be able to use technology to better their lives. We researched, analysed, and presented on this platform using all of our knowledge and we created a platform to develop a good relationship with the online community. In order for every user of social media to have access to the informational globe, we also covered social media through Tech Flax.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button